jump to navigation

Sakura in Progress April 17, 2010

Posted by lunarawe in Fiber Optic Yarns, spinning, yarn.
trackback

The cherry blossoms have been absolutely stunning this spring, so it has been an extra joy to spin Sakura – a cherry blossom inspired batt of wool, bamboo, and silk from Kimber Baldwin at Fiber Optic Yarns. This was my first selection in the As the Whorl Turns fiber club, which I highly recommend! The club will open to new members on May 14th.

I asked for two batts this first month, with a 2-ply, heavy lace weight yarn in mind. My plan is to do a long color grade, working a triangular shawl from lightest at the center to darkest at the edge.

At the beginning the color was dark and rich, and the flash in this first photo shows how the fibers create a beautifully light reflective yarn.

I took several pictures as I got closer to the end of the batt in an attempt to document the color shifts, really enjoying the changes in hue.

Here is the final single, and I am off to work on the second! There are bits of pink gossamer lightness floating about my house (and clothes!).

Comments»

1. Irmelin - May 2, 2010

Ohh, this will be a really great 2-ply lace, beautiful spun 🙂


Leave a comment