jump to navigation

Spinning Milkweed October 5, 2009

Posted by lunarawe in fo, handspun, spinning, spinning - FOs, spinning fo, yarn.
Tags:
trackback

I have always been enamored of milkweed fluff. It floats beautifully, shimmers in the sun, it’s soft and light and magical. As a child I even decided to love monarch butterflies because they loved milkweed. Then one day someone told me that it can be spun. Into yarn. Really.

I started by carding those cotswald curls that you see at the top, opening the locks before adding the shimmering milkweed into the mix. I read that you can only use up to 70% milkweed in a fiber blend before the resulting yarn becomes too brittle to spin. It is best blended with wool. This blend was only about 5% milkweed, because it was just an experiment.

The drum carder took up the milkweed well, once in was sandwiched between two layers of wool. I removed all the seeds of course, but wish I had separated the fibers from their connection point before carding. The might have all floated away of course, but I think the blending would have gone better. It is amazingly hard to keep your milkweed from blowing away. There was much holding of breath in this endeavor.

Here is Devorah kindly modeling the fluffiness of the final batt.

This was spun up long draw again. Another 50 yards or so like the green curls. Shiny!

Comments»

1. Vasanth Kumar - August 8, 2011

Dear Lunarawe,

Its amazing.. I am really astonished to see your work and words… can u give your email id or contact number.. I am having a idea to pursue my research in this area of milkweed fiber spinning process… i want to discuss or can u help me for the same… Want to share my ideas and discuss with you regarding this….

Regards,

D.Vasanth Kumar
+919894344299

2. karthik.t - January 31, 2012

Hello sir,
I’m doing my research on milkweed fibre spinning…can you give me some valuable suggestions regarding the same…

regards
KARTHIK.T
+919894429559


Leave a Reply

