jump to navigation

Yarny Goodness March 25, 2009

Posted by lunarawe in dyeing, fo, spinning, spinning - FOs, spinning fo, stash enhancement, yarn.
trackback

Hooray for the first yarn off of my new wheel! This is just over 540 yards of DK weight three ply yarn. The wool roving (breed unknown) was dyed by dudleyspinner. It started as 24 times more than this little nugget of fluff. About eight ounces.

Sorry for the blurriness. Cell phones just arent the best. I took the original roving, divided it randomly into three (by length) but then carefully separated each third into eight repeats. Happily, my attempt to balance out the rich colors seems to have worked. All suggestions about what to make from this are welcome!

I also had a ton of fun doing natural dyeing using beets. My housemate loves them, sadly enough, yet after boiling a pile in the crock pot I had a fabulous dye bath to work with. I used two different mordants on wool: alum and copper sulfate.

Here is the dyebath:

The cheesecloth was for straining out the beet bits. The pot below has wool mordanted in alum. That riotous orangey color definitely stuck! Fabulous! Time will tell if it will be colorfast, etc. I am thinking these rovings need to be turned into something that gets washed a bit less often.

Mordanting the wool in copper sulfate was beautiful! Aqualicious…

What happens to the color of beets once the copper sulfate is in the mix though… well, maybe greens should not be brought out of oranges. Lol. This looks a little too much like intestines. Ick! But the roving really is lovely. I cannot wait to see it spun.

Rinsed, dryed, and ready to spin! Both of these rovings are actually a bit darker than in the picture.

And finally I ordered some batts from Grafton Fibers! These are GORGEOUS! I am going spin them together. About one and one third ounce per batt… this is a three ply waiting to happen. We love the fibers!

Comments»

1. Felicity - March 28, 2009

That is an absolutely lovely yarn you’ve spun! I really like how the colours look against the black you plied with.

2. lunarawe - April 2, 2009

Believe it or not the black was actually a part of the roving. I just tried to space it evenly enough to create a dark background so that the other colors would pop. Thanks so much!

3. orlanda - April 7, 2009

Seems like we have something in common – one of my house mates likes eating beet, too. Maybe I should try a dyeing experiment with beet some day – orange rocks!

As for ideas for the newly spun yarn: Since the colors are quite wild I would knit a hat/scarf/gloves trio with it. Combined with a black or grey winter coat it will make the icy months more colorful.

4. New Spinnings « Stitch Witch - May 5, 2009

[…] Soft, delicious corriedale wool in such lovely batts. I ordered three (as can be seen at the bottom of this posting) in what I hoped would be complementary colors for a nice three ply yarn. […]


Leave a Reply

