jump to navigation

Knitted Votive Holder March 6, 2009

Posted by lunarawe in fo, knitting, Knitting - FOs, Ravelry.
trackback

Just a quickie for another update blast. This holiday season (yes… we are doing the catch up thing still) I made a votive holder for my grandmother. There is not a lot that she wants at this venerable and wise stage of her life, but lighting a regular candle for Santa Marta matters to her. So, knitting with wire it was. What a strange and different thing to do. All blessings upon Ravelry for being the place where I could get advice on how not to totally trash my fingers while doing this knitting.

28 gauge wire turned out to be the trick.

It was pretty easy! And Devorah, may she be forever blessed, was a huge help when she strung over 300 beads on this wire for me in advance so I could simultaneously work on knitting another (probably not to be pictured here) knitted gift. Time was tight. And she, as always, was a saint. Maybe next year she can have a votive holder of her own!

I decided to use Christmasy colors for beads and a red votive just to be festive. The doily in this picture was crocheted by one of the women who cares for my Grandmother. She is forever stitching… woman after my own heart.

I love you, Grandma.

Comments»

1. lykkefanten - March 9, 2009

Hi there
Lovely knitted wire!
You’ve won a prize on my blog, but I couldn’t send you an email. Please email me at lykkefanten (ad) hotmail (dot) com, so you can get your winnings 😉


Leave a Reply

