jump to navigation

More Rhinebeck Sitings October 19, 2008

Posted by lunarawe in Rhinebeck, sheep, spinning, stitching witches.
trackback
Fluffy Cotswold fleece

Fluffy Cotswold Fleece

Full confession to those who pay attention, this post was most certainly not written in October. That said, some things are worth documenting, no matter how late.

One of my absolute favorite Rhinebeck events is the Sheep to Shawl competition. In just a few hours groups of determined (mad) carders, spinners, and weavers transform unprocessed wool into beautiful shawls. It is really a thing of beauty to watch. One weaver per group, several spinners, and often a dedicated carder. They do most generously allow the weaver to warp the loom in advance. And then the madness begins!

My favorite group this year, no surprise here, was the team of witches working feverishly on their craft.

You have to admire a weaver who can hold her own in a pointy hat. Extra style points!

 

And this spinner was definitely a favorite. I admire the posture as much as the outfit. Plus, this group was energized and fun. There were tons of other good groups too! The group  below is gathered around their wool at the start of things. Such a lush color. Beautiful.

 

 A quick moment to admire the winning shawls, blue ribbon on the left and red on the right:

The blue ribbon shawl was dyed using natural dyes. Really stunning. As a non weaver this boggles my mind even without the frenetic racing and the time limit. Wow. This was also the same hall where the spinning competition was judged and displayed.

Three ribbons this year! I am very proud because at one and half years of spinning I am no longer considered a novice. One blue ribbon in the laceweight competition, a second place ribbon for three ply, and a fifth place for two ply. Super fun. And the lovely judges gave me this delightful mug (that I had been coveting in the fair, to be honest) with sheepies and knitting on it. Happiness! *delicate cough* And next year I will have to make sure to have neat ties that match. Oh the shame of it all. But I really appreciated the in depth notes this time around. Helpful.

There can be no sitings report complete without a photo of the delightful winner of this year’s hooked rug competition. I think this is both phenomenally done AND adorable. Definite points. And lastly, I leave you with a few llamas to tide you over until next year:

Comments»

1. trillian42 - February 17, 2009

What is it about llamas? They always have this look on their faces that cracks me up. I can see them looking over half-rim glasses just saying “Yeeeeeees? Can I HELP you?” like an old-fashioned librarian or something.

2. lsinha - March 10, 2009

Oh! You make me want to go to Rhinebeck. That fleece! Those sheep-to-shawlers! And that yarn you’re making is exquisite. I think perhaps my yarn is severely undertwisted, which would also explain the can’t-chain-ply-without-it-falling-apart problem.


Leave a Reply

