jump to navigation

Spinnings June 3, 2007

Posted by lunarawe in handspun, spinning, stash enhancement, yarn.
trackback

Lest you believe that all I do is knit socks (though there are days when it certainly feels that way) here are some of the yarns I have been spinning now that I am finally back at my spinning wheel.

I think my biggest excitement has been the recent success of getting my navajo plying off the ground. It isn’t perfect, but it makes my multicolor rovings come out much less muddy in their colors, which is very exciting. Also, something about not needing four bobbins to make a three ply yarn is seriously satisfying.

This was my first successful navajo plying (does anyone know the history of this term?) adventure. The paperclip is regular sized and included for size reference.

This is all of 63 yards of sport weight yarn (I had originally planned to spin two more singles and ply the usual way) of a gorgeous roving from Dudley Spinner.

I also spun up about 91 yards, also navajo plied, of the Rocktoberfest Roving from Blue Moon Fiber Arts.

I have to admit that I am not so crazy about this yarn. Is is 50% merino and 50% tencel. I just don’t love rovings mixed with tencel. They feel too much like plastic. But I do love Tina’s eye for color. I will just have to go and acquire some 100% natural wool roving next time I am at The Fold.

I also finally got around to working with the wool silk blend I picked up eons ago. I spun up about 130 yards of it, three ply the regular way. It is super soft and delicious. That is also a regular sized paper clip and this is also sport weight yarn. Seems to be my default setting.

It is good to have the wheel spinning again. Poor thing sat for about six weeks all unloved and alone. A terrible thing really.

Comments»

1. geckogrrl - June 3, 2007

I simply love the navajo 3-ply! Great job — the yarn looks so beautiful!

2. kraftie - June 5, 2007

oh wow…that’s all gorgeous…

I love how shiney it all looks.


Leave a Reply

