jump to navigation

Random Footgear March 28, 2007

Posted by lunarawe in dyeing, knitting, knitting socks, Rockin' Sock Club 2007, socks, yarn.
trackback

Warning, pics of the February Rockin’ Sock Club kit below! 

I seem to have a thing for knitting footwear.

Do my feet have an inherent need to be swathed in soft fluffiness? It seems so. Here are the varied, and often eye wounding, projects I have been working on of late. All in progress, all currently just a single, all intended for footsies.

Let us begin with the eyesore. OK, OK maybe that isn’t entirely fair. This skein of yarn began as a humble length of Knit Picks Bare Essentials. Then it went on a journey with me to Dagmar Klos’ Socks to Dye For class. And then it lingered in the cedar chest for a time before becoming this:

Isn’t that BRIGHT?!?!!? Ye gods. And I dyed it my own self.

I also have so far made one foot of the Fiber Trends felted clogs. In Manos Del Uruguay’s Neptune colorway. I inserted my iPod for size reference. Yeesh this thing is huge:

And finally of course the Blue Moon Fiber Arts’ Rockin’ Sock Club February Kit. For those tracking the needle size craziness… I used size 2 circs for toe and heel, size 1 circs for the foot, and size 3 circs for the leg.

The um… pooling… has been fascinating (above color is truer to life):

Hooray for feet!

Comments»

1. niftyknitter - March 29, 2007

I too have a “foot fetish” and can’t wait to see your finished FibreTrend felted clogs. I purchased the Alpine Boot Slippers pattern but haven’t started yet. Oh and I love the colours in the first photo, yes..it is bright …but glorious.


Leave a Reply

