jump to navigation

Machine Washable Handspun January 24, 2007

Posted by lunarawe in fo, handspun, spinning, spinning - FOs, spinning fo, yarn.
trackback

 

320 yards of finished yarn. This is 6.5 oz of the merino / tencel blend I just picked up from The Fold last week.  To my absolute delight the yarn was balanced after plying (2-ply)! I didn’t bother to wet set it, because it was just so soft and wonderful right off of the bobbin.

I am still thinking of making socks out of this. Attempting to spin a machine washable yarn was the goal for that reason. The tencel made for an interesting time spinning. The fibers were much slipperier than any I have worked with before. The fibers drafted easily, but were more difficult to draft evenly. I definitely remain a fan of all-natural fibers, which was reinforced for me by working with this roving.

I will have to see how it knits up. I am thinking to work on the socks as my first Project Spectrum 2.0 project. This should definitely qualify in the blue range.

Comments»

1. Take Two of These… « Stitch Witch - March 11, 2007

[…] and one of these (some cobalt superwash merino / tencel blend that I had left over from making my first machine washable handspun): […]


Leave a Reply

