jump to navigation

Prepping to Ply January 19, 2007

Posted by lunarawe in spinning, yarn.
trackback

So after my experience with knitting a 2-ply yarn (I know, I know… 2 ply is for weaving not knitting) I think I am ready to try Navajo Plying. I decided to spin up some natural tops (100% wool) that I had been using with my drop spindle for practice before taking on my second roving from Ferndale Fiber. The funny thing is that I am loving this wool. It has a longer staple, is easier to spin into a fine single, and is soooo much softer than the last wool /mohair blend I was working with. The fibers are a bit more slippery, but I think I managed just fine. And the serious decrease in slubs is very exciting.

Plying (or attempting anyway) tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

