jump to navigation

Eric’s Socks January 15, 2007

Posted by lunarawe in fo, knitting, Knitting - FOs, knitting socks, socks.
trackback

I have been meaning to post this picture of the socks I made for my friend Eric. Not only because I believe that pics of hand knit socks are important, but because of his amusement when he realized that a photo of his feet was on the web.

This was my first time knitting socks out of cotton… actually a pima cotton / modal blend (Knit Picks Shine Worsted in Bachelor Button). I was wary of the fiber, but Eric is allergic to wool, so my normal sock plan was right out. I am pretty pleased with these socks. I adapted Barbara Walker’s embossed moss stitch rib into a toe-up pattern of my own that I knit with only a fairly vague description of the size of his feet. Other than his ankles being a bit smaller than I thought, the socks fit pretty well. And I really liked the shine yarn. The modal (a fiber made from sustainably harvested beech trees) makes the yarn very lovely, completely changing the texture of the cotton.

As my family would say… May he wear them in good health.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

