jump to navigation

Night Sky Yarn January 14, 2007

Posted by lunarawe in fo, knitting, spinning, spinning - FOs, yarn.
trackback

 

So plying was harder than I thought. No surprise to anyone I am sure. The snarl I made somewhere in the midst of my first 100 yards was impressive. Thankfully no one was in the house to hear my cussing commentary.

That said, even with some impressive slubs and varience in yarn thickness, I am very pleased by my first yarn. There is still some of the roving left to spin, which I will get to soon. I am hoping to have enough yarn for a short scarf. We shall see. Right now I have about 130 yards or so, give or take. I plyed (just a basic 2 ply), soaked, and dried the yarn last night and was ridiculously pleased to wind the skeins into balls this afternoon.

I am working on turning this first “textured” attempt into the Yarn Harlot’s one row handspun scarf. Only without the skill at spinning that she so clearly displays. I know, time and practice. Anyone else find they needed to stretch a lot when they first started spinning? I didn’t realize this was such a physical sport.

Here is the scarf in progress, on my favorite Lantern Moon 10.5 rosewood needles.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

