jump to navigation

Holidays Approaching December 8, 2006

Posted by lunarawe in knitting, knitting socks, socks.
trackback

I am not sure what it is about holiday knitting for me. I start out by choosing just one person on my list to receive a hand knit gift. This makes wonderful sense and often, as happened this year, I finish that gift early. Then I start to get cocky. I pick one more person for yuletide knitting, and even get well underway with the next project… when all of a sudden I am staring down a knitting list that grows longer by the day.

What possesses me to borrow library books filled with interesting patterns just a few weeks before Solstice? The most recent addition to my impending-works-in-progress-with-a-deadline-thank-you-very-much is a set of beer cozies, from Knitting With Balls. I have an aunt who absolutely needs a few of these.

It never ends.

Apologies for the terrible sock photo. It is, in fact, a glorious sock. Made from Schaeffer’s Anne line in wool, mohair, and nylon. Incredibly soft, though requiring size one needles for the first time ever. Who thought up this kind of torture anyway? I can post this pic because the friend whose size 6.5 feet will soon be covered by this sock (and hopefully its mate) picked out the yarn herself. No surprises there. As my hoofie-woofies clock in at a size 9.5, I could not model these for a better picture.

She wanted simple socks, hence all the stockinette. I did do a baby cable rib at the top, because sometimes you just have to throw in a little flair. Hopefully this will count as a FO soon. Good luck to all the speed knitters out there! The deadlines (depending on your tradition of choice) are rapidly approaching!

Comments»

1. stitchywitch - December 9, 2006

I love the way the sock yarn striped – it’s nice and even. I wish my feet were only a size 6… I would get so many more socks done!


Leave a Reply

