jump to navigation

Needles, needles, needles October 31, 2006

Posted by lunarawe in jaywalkers, Knit Alongs, knitting, lace knitting, Socktoberfest, yarn.
trackback

These past few days have been showered in knitting needles. First… a moment of silence for the recently frogged Birch Leaf lace socks. They were super cute! They were growing… but the neon-glare of an intensely turquoise spiral up and through the lace was taking away from the beauty of the pattern. That Lorna’s Laces Baltic Sea colorway will have to be used for something else that highlights its beauty. Has anyone else made gorgeous socks from this colorway?

So… one pair of empty Addis. So sad.

Next I decided it was critical to begin work on the gorgeous Socktoberfest colorway from Scout’s Swag before the end of Socktoberfest. After much careful thought (and almost succumbing to a mosaic plan) I decided that it might be time to give in to the tidal wave of Jaywalkers taking over the net. In truth the pattern does bring out the beauty of the yarn. So here is that first beginning on a set of Inox needles… I am enjoying the sharper points:

One final set of needles? You bet… seven in fact! This first attempt at doily making (don’t ask me what I was thinking) was supposed to be done on three needles, but as it is a hexagon, seven seemed easier for actually checking the pattern. I have never blocked pearl cotton before… should be fun!

A blessed Samhain to all! May your ancestors treat you with kindness this evening.

Comments»

1. So now what do I do with it? « Stitch Witch - November 24, 2006

[…] A while back I began my adventures with seven double pointed needles. I had decided that making a doily was an interesting thing to do… something that would teach me useful things about knitting lace. Ye gods. Who thought that 1.5 size needles should ever be big enough to result in lace? Pearl cotton is a crazy, crazy thing. So a few days ago I took my glass doily off the needles. Here is the lovely, rumpled mess it made: […]

2. The Walk of Shame « Stitch Witch - September 28, 2009

[…] all began when I started toe up jaywalkers in Scout’s Socktoberfest colorway. Yes, nigh on three years ago. There is nothing quite like telling people to stay tuned on October 13, 2006 and just posting an […]


Leave a Reply

