jump to navigation

FO: Catching up! October 24, 2006

Posted by lunarawe in Knit Alongs, knitting, Knitting - FOs, Socktoberfest.
trackback

 

This is definitely my first Socktoberfest miracle… completing this basic stockinette pair of socks that I started two years ago! You see, this became the Yarn of Infamy. Imagine it… you are three quarters of the way through your sock using self-striping sock yarn. Then you come across… a knot. This has happened to me with other yarns (it always pisses me off), but this case was particularly obnoxious. Why you ask? Because the knot was made with complete disregard for the striped patterning of the sock.

TOTALLY INFURIATING!

So I had to frog enough to weave in, cut out tons of yarn until we were back to the right place in the patterning and then finish the sock. So I am of the belief that it is not entirely my fault that working on the second sock took so long. This was no regular second sock syndrome.

 That said I am amazed and delighted to report that I have caught up with my sock knitting! The oldest socks I have in progress went on the needles about two weeks ago. Huzzah. So… the polite socks of doom are just missing one cuff, they should be done soon. And the Birch Leaf socks are progressing slowly. Surely I have been sooooooo good that I can finally cast on with Scout’s Socktoberfest yarn, or maybe that luscious new Lorna’s Laces in their flame colorway.

 Decisions, decisions….

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

