jump to navigation

FO and a Socktoberfest Personal History October 4, 2006

Posted by lunarawe in knitting, Knitting - FOs, Socktoberfest.
trackback

I am delighted with my first completed socks for Socktoberfest.  OK, not that it was terribly difficult to complete them… all I did was end the walk of shame by finally weaving the ends in on these poor neglected socks. Simple, yet soft and very satisfying. I figured in the meantime I would answer Lolly’s questions (see below).

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?  

I started making socks about two years ago. I tend to make them slowly, working on them primarily when I travel. I took a class at Knit Witz in Stockton, CA. They were very sweet and answered all of my questions.

What was your first pair?  How have they “held up” over time?  

My first pair was a simple all stockinette sock, except for ribbing at the cuff, done toe up with short row toes (provisional cast on) and heels.

What would you have done differently?  

😀  I would have done another project on small needles first! I had to rip out six toes in a row, then drop down a needle size, then rip out an entire sock anyway before I figured out my tension on two circulars and on size 2 needles. It probably didn’t help that I had just finished a sweater on elevens!

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?  

My favorite yarn to date is Rowan’s Cashsoft. I *love* the way it knits up and the softness on my feet. I did quite like Knit Picks’ Merino Style during Sock Wars. I have used two different self-striping yarns, though I cannot remember their names (one got frogged, never to return again).

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?  

So far I have been knitting on 2 circulars. I have done hats on DPNs, but was happy to give them up once I learned the 2 circular method.

Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)  

I really prefer short-row heels… and toes, actually; both the knitting and the wearing of them. I don’t really like the eight loop toe. A provisional cast on for a short-row toe is worth the extra time to me. They come out so perfectly rounded to my feet.

How many pairs have you made?

Not counting the ghosts of frogged socks past, I am working on my third pair of socks. All blessings on Lolly for not asking how much sock yarn lives in my stash.

Comments»

1. firefly8868 - October 5, 2006

Pretty socks, and I like your blog name and header … especially this month!

Best,
firefly


Leave a Reply

